Fleeting Moments and Forever Memories

F. Scott Fitzgerald once wrote, “Riches have never fascinated me, unless combined with the greatest charm of distinction.” F. Scott Fitzgerald knew a thing or two about the true meaning of Christmas. The presents under the tree never hold my fascination for very long; but, the love of my family and friends everlastingly warm my heart. And always has it been that way.

Looking back to when I was a little girl, the memories that continue to captivate my imagination are those wrapped within the little moments. Baking and decorating cookies with my mom, giggling as my dad and brother struggle with the chainsaw to cut down the most massive Christmas tree we could find, reading stories with my grandparents on Christmas Eve and raising our eyebrows in mock fear of the Grinch and his menacing ways, strolling through the dead avenues of our quiet town in the late evening hours with our heads spinning in awe of neighbors’ over-the-top light displays and decorations, cuddling cozily by the fire in anticipation of the day to come.

I look back, and while memories of opening Santa’s presents and the joy and excitement of Christmas morning do cross my mind, they never take center stage. As I grow older, I find myself missing these little moments and taking the time and care to make sure that I continue to recreate newer versions of these fond reminiscences with every passing year as my life continues to develop.

This Christmas and Eve, stop and take a look around you. Revel in the joy, the glistening of smiles, the rosiness of cheeks, and the little moments. Because as F. Scott Fitzgerald once wrote, “It is sadder to find the past again and find it inadequate to the present than it is to have it elude you and remain forever a harmonious conception of memory.”

Create lasting memories this holiday season and every holiday season. Wishing you all a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Leave Me A Message!

