Guest Blog Appearance!

Yesterday, I had the absolute pleasure of appearing in a guest blog post on Samantha Sylvester’s blog, “Living Life My Way.” She reached out to me on Twitter and asked if I would write a paragraph detailing my experiences with bullying to her followers, along with some advice on how to survive the tormenting.

I started the Twitter account for Belittle the Bullies only a few short months ago, and each day, I continue to feel overwhelmed by the incredible support and inspiration that my followers shower not only me with, but shower each other with. I’ve said it from the beginning, and I will continue to say it. If we stand together, if we show the world that we will not remain quiet, if we strive to spread messages of positivity and kindness, the bullies in our lives will never stand a chance. Together, we will all continue to belittle the bullies.

So, without further ado, here is my portion from Samantha’s blog post:

In high school, I was the bookworm who would rather read “The Catcher in the Rye” by herself in the library than worry about who she was going to sit with in the cafeteria. My classmates constantly bullied and teased me. I wore glasses and braces and was shy and timid, but I was also kind-hearted. And I did not understand why they were doing this to me. Eventually, I became so depressed that I thought that was the life I deserved, and the only life I would ever know. I thought I was worthless. I never want you to feel the way I once did. I want you to know that you can confide in me, and that I do not judge. I want you to know that you are loved and you are strong and you will get through this, and those people, those bullies, do not define you. Never hide from the person you are, and never let someone tell you that there is only one way to be. Quirky is worthy. Nerdy is worthy. Having integrity is worthy. I know that you have greatness inside of you, and that is all I need to know. You are worthy.

To read the full post, please click HERE.
And, if you’re not following me on Twitter yet, @belittlebullies, be sure to do so! I would be thrilled to have you join our Twitter family.
Leave Me A Message!

