Lost In The Moment

On my way in to work this morning, I found myself caught in the midst of a wedding procession. A happy couple stumbled in front of me, oblivious, out of touch with reality and in touch only with each other… every little look and smile and gesture still magical and surreal.

But it was the little girl, the flower girl, and her partner-in-crime, the tiny ring-bearer who caught my attention and stole my heart. Amid all these tall businessmen, shuffling indiscreetly toward the elevator bank, the little flower girl stopped in a haste to pick up some flower petals that had quietly fallen to the floor beneath the hurried feet of those who made their way to work.

The little boy stood alongside her, captivated and intimidated by the businessmen and the commotion of the morning commute. It was as though you could see his mind swirling, as he looked around, at once mesmerized and lost. His eyes flitted anxiously through the tens of people and the photographers rushing to keep up with the bridal party.

And while others sighed and groaned, as the minutes ticked onward and this great procession in the middle of the lobby continued to slow the elevator system for all us trying to get to work, I stood, lost in the scene much like the little boy.

How often do we allow ourselves to just stop and take it all in? We are constantly rushing, constantly frustrated, constantly thinking about our next five steps in life.

Well, this morning, I did not want to rush. I did not want to be thinking about my next five steps for the morning. I just wanted to be lost for a moment. They say sometimes you need to lose yourself to find the bigger picture. Sometimes you need to surrender to the moment and allow it to take control.

Those two sweethearts taught me something this morning. It’s okay to stumble. It’s okay to get caught up in life’s simple pleasures. It’s okay to stop and take a breath.

And it’s okay to take a chance.

There is so much beauty in this world that we take for granted. So, what is my advice for today? Look past all the candy hearts and silly notecards and roses, and look for the lasting moments instead.

For, it is the memories of those sweet moments that will forever resonate in our hearts and minds.

“I’m trying to put it all back together.
I’ve got a story and I’m trying to tell it right.
I got the kerosene and a desire.
I’m trying to start a flame in the heart of the night”

Leave Me A Message!

