What Do You Live For?

William James once said, “Be not afraid of life. Believe that life is worth living and the belief will help create the fact.”

A few days ago, I registered for my last semester of classes. Come the early weeks of May, I will be a college graduate, out in “the real world,” trying to figure out what exactly my purpose is in this city, this life.

Up until recently, everything seemed so clear. But just like when you’re flying, every situation, every place always looks so neat and tidy when you’re miles away from the reality. It is when you start approaching the destination, diving head first into your surroundings, that everything becomes more complicated, less organized, more cluttered.

For the few that know the real me, you know that I worry constantly. The idea of being in a constant state of flux usually scares me. But not anymore.

You see, there is beauty in this constant change we all are forced to face. Each day is a new opportunity to grow, to strengthen the shells of our souls and work toward becoming that person we fantasized one day becoming when still in the comforts of our childhood bedrooms.

I sit here typing this post tonight, surrounded by journals and notepads filled with scribbled handwriting, running across the pages in all different directions. And as I trace my fingers over the different sentiments splattered across these different pages, I can remember the emotions, the excitements, the anticipations, the betrayals, the hopefulness, the hopelessness that coincided with the different writings. On some pages, the writing is more concentrated, neat and tidy. On other pages, barely legible scribbles run diagonally across the page, as though my fingers could not keep up with the intensity of the thoughts cascading through my mind at the time.

I look at these pages, and I take comfort in their presence. I am a writer. I always have been. And I plan to always be.

The rest, I’ll figure out as I go along.

The point to this post? Do not be afraid of who you are, of who you are meant to be. If you have a passion for something, go after it. Fight for it. Cherish it. It is so rare that we find passion in this world; we must relish in it, appreciate it, and never lose sight of it. Do not let your fears or your doubts or your worries keep you from the greatness I know you are destined to accomplish. There will always be someone waiting to tell you that you can’t do it, that you can’t make it. But they are wrong.

Pursue your dreams, and never lose hope. Sometimes, hope is all we have.

Leave Me A Message!

