Most Inspiring Blogger Award

The cynic in me was quick to dismiss a notification I received the other day informing me that belittlethebullies was nominated for “Most Inspiring Blogger Award!” And the realist in me simply thought the notification too good to be true. But then the optimist in me told both the realist and the cynic to keep quiet for a moment and just relish in the fact that one of my sweet, caring followers thought highly enough of my blog to nominate it for such a beautiful award!

And to that lovely lady, Maria Ospina, I would like to just take a moment to express my utmost gratitude. I will say once more, and have said from the beginning, if the writings within these virtual pages are able to help even just one person, then everything I am doing is worth it.

Now, according to some mysterious WordPress rulebook, in order to accept the nomination, I must complete the following:

  • Link back to the person who nominated you
  • Tell 7 things about yourself
  • Post the award image to my page
  • Nominate 15 other blogs

But I never play completely by the rules. So, my lovely readers, below are ten honest facts about me:

  1. Sometimes, I am hesitant to fully expose myself within the pages of this blog. I am trying, and with each and every new post, I hope I am improving, but as every writer knows, I often dance across the lines of a double-edged sword: I write constantly. Every emotion, feeling, regret, occurrence… It’s all written down somewhere, within the stacks and stacks of journals I collect. But a lot of that writing, I am often hesitant to always share with others. Just know that everything within the pages of this blog is real, raw emotion. I am giving to you all that I have.
  2. Ever wonder why I try to link a song with every post? Because, like any artist, most of my life, most of my memories, are wrapped up within thousands of intertwining lyrics. Music has been, and will always be, the guiding force in my life. And I want to share the love affair with all of you.
  3. I’m full of angst. Aren’t we all? I’ve said from the beginning of this blog, and I will say again, we live in a world in which we all constantly swap roles between playing bully and victim. The intention of this blog is to help all you readers build integrity and character, because, at the end of the day, it’s always better to be confident in who you are (flaws and all) than to sit in the audience as a helpless bystander to your own life performances.
  4. I dabble in all different sorts of writing. Some of which you can see within the pages of these blogs. I write short stories. I write fiction. Nonfiction. I write poetry. And the style of writing I engage in usually depends solely on my mood. I write short stories when I’m hiding from my own emotions. I write fiction when I feel truly liberated and free and in the moment. I reserve nonfiction writing for my journalistic endeavors. And I write poetry when I know exactly what I want to articulate, but I do not want to come outright and say it, because seeing it in clear black and white would be too hard.
  5. I graduate from New York University this May, and I have never been more unsure of what the future will have in store, but, for once in my life, I want to just let it all unfold in front of me, as I watch excitedly, eager to dive into these new experiences.
  6. My mom is my best friend, and that title will always exclusively belong to her.
  7. Mimi (my grandmother) is the one person I have always trusted without a doubt, and I always go to her for advice and support. She is my confidant, my partner in crime.
  8. Every day, I am more and more proud to see the lovely young man my brother is becoming. I wish him nothing short of the best, and I hope he knows he has the world at his fingertips.
  9. My interests are teasingly diverse. Just know that.
  10. I am much happier now than I was this time last year. And I have made some wonderful friends in very unexpected places these past few months. I hope that trend continues.

And now, if you’re still with me after all that emotional purging, let me now nominate three other bloggers for this award. Every day, your writings inspire me to work hard, to keep my chin up and to keep sharing my stories as openly and honestly as you are all sharing yours. Keep writing, everyone!

  1. Big&Beautiful&Bold
  2. WinnersWinningWords
  3. My Daily Beauty Blog
One thought on “Most Inspiring Blogger Award

Leave Me A Message!

