Be Someone’s Citizen Soldier Today

He was about to embark. His feet stood planted firmly on the ground and he bore a look of determination in his dark eyes; he would not let her see him cry.

She wanted to look away, but knew if she did then she would have no one to turn toward. It was her duty to protect him, to shelter him from the pain. She was his citizen soldier.

 .            .           .

I wrote the above after listening to “Citizen Soldier,” by 3 Doors Down. The song elicited such strong emotions in my mind, and, unconsciously, this scene played out in my head. I wondered in what way I could incorporate this song into my blog, and that’s when it struck me.

Too often in this world I feel as though we let our family and friends—the ones closest to us—quietly suffer in despair because they are afraid to come forward; they don’t want their problems to be their loved ones’ burdens to bear.

But when you love someone, it is your duty to protect that person to no end. Be the strength that your family and friends need from time to time. Stand up for the ones you love.

Anyone who knows me knows that I will protect my friends and family to no end. That, to me, is one of the most important attributes one can have. So, I am encouraging all of you to be someone’s citizen soldier today. We all deserve to know that there is someone out there who cares for our well-being, and who will protect us from it all.

“And on that day, when you need your brothers and sisters to care

I’ll be right here.

Citizen soldiers, holding the light for the ones that we guide

From the dark of despair

Standing on guard for the ones that we’ve sheltered

We’ll always be ready, because we will always be there.”

Listen to the song HERE and remember to be there for someone today. I promise they’ll appreciate it.

Leave Me A Message!

