Dance Into the Night with Me

One of my good friends recently said something that continues to stick with me, a quote that I will forever try to live my life in accordance with. She said, “You just have to find a way to create and cultivate happiness in your life, find the good that comes out of the bad. I strive to create the happiness in my life each and every day.”

Like a gift from the heavens

It was easy to tell

It was love from above that could save me from hell

She had fire in her soul it was easy to see

How the devil himself could be pulled out of me

There were drums in the air as she started to dance

Every soul in the room keeping time with her hands

And we sang, “Ay oh ay oh ay oh ay”

And the voices rang, like the angels sang

And we sang, “Ay oh ay oh ay oh ay”

And we danced on into the night

Like a piece to the puzzle that falls into place

You could tell how we felt from the look on her face

She was spinning in circles with the moon in her eyes

No room left to move in between you and I

We forgot where we were and we lost track of time

And we sang to the wind as we danced through the night

And we sang, “Ay oh ay oh ay oh ay”

And the voices rang, like the angels sang

And we sang, “Ay oh ay oh ay oh ay”

And we danced on into the night

Like a gift from the heavens

It was easy to tell

It was love from above that could save me from hell

She had fire in her soul it was easy to see

How the devil himself could be pulled out of me

There were drums in the air as she started to dance

Every soul in the room keeping time with her hands

And we sang, “Ay oh ay oh ay oh ay”

And the voices rang, like the angels sang

And we sang, “Ay oh ay oh ay oh ay”

And we danced on into the night

It’s such an odd thing. Being happy. We see advertisements for all these romantic comedies, we watch people all around us burst into laughter with friends over the silliest of things, and we think happiness should just fall into our laps. I think we rarely realize that while there are spontaneous moments of sheer happiness (sometimes those moments turn into the ones we’ll remember for the rest of our lives), happiness is more often something that needs to be worked towards. It requires effort, motivation, and patience. It is the one emotion that I try to never take for granted.

Yes, there is beauty in suffering. And I am most certainly the person I am today because of a lot of painful situations that I have undergone. But I’m at a point in my life where I know what—who—is most important to me, and it’s becoming increasingly easier to let the bad memories recede into the background of my mind and let the good memories and the good people in my life shape my happiness.

So, why write this post on my blog? I think it’s an important one to read if you’re going through bullying. I’ve said before that, ultimately, those people who are trying to tear you down don’t matter. And I stand by that. But I also want to add this to my advice: Create your own happiness. Fate is in your hands. Stand tall, walk proud, realize all the good people and the good situations that undoubtedly surround you and don’t take them for granted. No one person can determine your happiness, but he/she can sure as hell help.

Also, just a side-note: My choices in song probably don’t always make the most sense to outsiders. I swear I live my life to my own musical soundtrack. But the song connects very well to the words of this posting in my head, because I can distinctly remember all of the good times that this particular song (“Into the Night,” Chad Kroeger and Santana) has brought me, and the people who were there to experience those good times with me will understand, too. So, in short, this particular posting is dedicated to two incredible people who have had a huge, positive impact on my life thus far and will undoubtedly continue to in future years. You’ll both know who you are the second you read this post =)

All lyrics from “Into the Night,” Chad Kroeger and Santana

Leave Me A Message!

